National Public Speaking Competition in English

The library, the English Speaking Union and the Maison de l’Europe are pleased to invite the general public to the French National Public Speaking Competition in English for high school students on Saturday, March 23rd from 2 to 5:45 pm.

High school students from local schools in the Maine-et-Loire will be competing to represent France in the International Public Speaking Competition, organized by the English Speaking Union to take place in London this May.

The library is proud to help empower these young students! The competition will be held at the Salle Daviers (5 Boulevard Daviers, 49100 Angers). Please RSVP by contacting the front desk at info@ellia.org or 02.41.24.97.07.

Annual Meeting

Dear library members,

There is always something going on at the library: activities, events, talks, exhibits and of course the possibility of borrowing books and DVDs. If you would like to know everything about what the library offered in 2018, please come to our Annual Meeting on Wednesday, March 27th starting at 6:30 pm at the library.

Agenda:

All members are cordially invited. Please remember that only members with a current membership may vote during this meeting. If you would like to check your membership validity or if you are unable to attend and would like to instate a proxy to vote for you, please contact the front desk.

Hope to see you there, best regards,

Anne LEBEUGLE, Chairwoman

Books at Heart: New Acquisitions

Drop by the library and check out our newest titles! Every month we add the latest and greatest new releases for your reading pleasure.

New and Noteworthy for March:

  • Before I Let You In by Jenny Blackhurst, a brilliant debut for fans of psychological thrillers (we know who you are)
  • Time is a Killer by Michael Bussi, nothing is lost in translation in this mystery novel from the acclaimed French crime author
  • Sleeper 13 by Rob Sinclair, a fast-paced thriller for fans of Michael Connelly, Lee Child and David Baldacci
  • New Kid by Jerry Craft – “a contemporary depiction of a preteen navigating sometimes hostile spaces yet staying true to himself thanks to friends, family, and art.”
  • On the Come Up by Angie Thomas, the highly anticipated second novel by the author of the #1 New York Times bestselling, award-winning The Hate U Give(now a major motion picture)
  • Where We Go from Here: Two Years in the Resistance by Bernie Sanders, following his decision to run for the U.S. Presidency
  • The Japanese Lover from internationally bestselling author Isabel Allende, an exquisitely crafted love story and multi-generational epic
  • The Chalk Man by C.J. Tudor, best described as deliciously creepy with shades of Stephen King
  • Paul Moves Out by Michel Rabagliati, all the way from Quebec, a well-crafted story that’s easily accessible to both young-adult and adult audiences with his semi-fictional protagonist

And many more! Come visit, browse and find your next favorite book. If you’re stuck for what to read don’t forget to have a look (or leave a comment) on our Books At Heart noticeboard, or just ask a librarian! There’s always something new & good to read at the library! Browse the catalog by clicking here.

The Library Celebrates 25 Years

Curious about what makes the library so unique? Enjoy this mini-film which commemorates the library’s 25th anniversary and the wonderful community who made it all possible!

A big thank you to our members and volunteers. Happy Anniversary to the library!

Books at Heart!

When you come into the library, you may be faced with the question, “What should I read next?” The library has a huge collection (about 30,000 books!)… but which books will promise you hours of good reading?

“Books at Heart” will help you with your question.  It’s a new initiative for book lovers, to promote sharing and feedback about books. Now you can tell everyone about the books you love!

Firstly, you’ll find a new noticeboard in the library, called “Our Books of the Year”. There’s already a small selection of truly excellent recommendations. It’s open to everyone… feel free to add YOUR book of the year. Spread the news!

Secondly, we invite people to “curate” their favorite books. A curator will promote a selection of books. It could be a genre (crime, historical, classics…), it could be linked to a country (Sweden, Canada, China…), or a non-fiction range (politics, history, cooking…).

And, we need volunteers! As a curator, you will put an information card on the shelves every month or so, to promote a book or an author. And you will organize a front-of-library display once a year. If you want to become a curator, contact Peter Bolos, Library staff member, at collections@ellia.org.